In Time (2011)

In Time: Where money is time, and time is money. How much time do you have left?
★★★½

In Time, the sort of film title film critics love, giving them the chance to twist it in an attempt to make a witty statement about how this film was a waste of time, or how it indeed did finish just in time. But the truth is, time was no issue here, apart for those involved in the film – it was paced well to ensure that the plot was always moving forward in what is one of the more original and interesting concepts in Sci-Fi, making for an enjoyable watch, even with the drawbacks. There are some well made points to this film, highlighting many a relatable issue that strikes a chord or two, but the execution across the board was disappointing, from the acting to the writing amongst other slight niggling drawbacks, reducing this film to a somewhat regrettably forgettable flick that could have been better than what it really was.

Image from: In Time, (2011), [ONLINE]. Available here

13 thoughts on “In Time (2011)

    1. I know what you mean. I think there is potential in him to make a decent actor, just needs the right part. I quite liked him in Friends with benefits, mind.

      If you get the chance, I think it’s worth a watch one evening. Don’t expect anything groundbreaking, I suppose just enjoy it for what it is.

      Thanks for the comment.

  1. I’m not a fan of either Justin Timberlake the singer or actor (though he was good in The Social Network). The idea sounded interesting but I decided not to see it. Nice review.

  2. You are much kinder to this than I am. Even my wife didn’t like it and she hearts JT. The fellow who posted up above mentioned JT doesn’t have much luck with his choices. I thought he was pretty awesome in Alpha Dog… and then I hated The Social Network more than anything. : )

    1. I wasn’t a fan of him in The Social Network either, really. I think he works better in films like Friends with Benefits and Bad Teacher – not that I enjoyed either very much, but I figure that role is better suited to him.

      I noticed that I was one of the minority who enjoyed this film more than most, something just hit right I think.

  3. The concept was interesting, but the execution wasn’t. It looked very slick, but the story just didn’t manage to involve me enough, especially when it suddenly turned into this Bonnie and Clyde story. Nice to hear you got more out of it than I did.

Leave a Reply

