Prometheus

Prometheus: A superb return to Sci-Fi for Ridley Scott
★★★★★

I sat down to watch Prometheus with great expectations – Ridley Scott, the man who created Alien, was back after 30 years away from the genre to give us a sort-of prequel that had been touted as being biggest Sci-Fi hit of the year and frankly, I wasn’t disappointed like so many others. On so many levels, Prometheus gets it right with an intriguing, deep and ambitious premise where a group of scientists seek to find their makers and as expected, it is filled with beautiful CGI work and scenery, powerful and suspenseful scenes, questions, answers and more questions and of course, aliens; but it does lack that scare that Alien brought us – not that that’s necessarily an issue as it was the quiet moments of understanding that really had me hooked. The film has received its share of negative reviews with many disliking the plot, the lack of scares etc, but from the stunning opening scenes to the final moments of Prometheus, I was gripped tightly into my seat as Michael Fassbender and co took me on a truly enjoyable ride that ended with the option for a sequel or two, that will then likely make up the trilogy that will make up the prequel to Alien.

Image from: Prometheus, (2012), [ONLINE]. Available here and here

17 thoughts on “Prometheus

  1. I liked it but the plot and characters were all over the place. It was the same writer that made “Lost” so frustrating for the same reason, right? Fassbender was brilliant, has to be said.

  2. I can understand where you, and a lot of other people, are coming from, but the plot and characters had something that I really liked about them, and perhaps that something was that they were a bit all over the place. I found that interesting. I have to agree though, Fassbender played his role brilliantly.
    Thanks for the comment!

  3. My main complaint was, put simply, the stupid decisions of intelligent characters–the surveyor getting lost, the biologist treating a threatening snake like creature as if it where a puppy, and other similar bad decisions by scientists.

  4. I think this was brilliant and extremely well done. The only thing that bothered me (but the movie is still five stars) is that the TV spots made this look like it was going to be shit your pants scary – and it was not that. Still five stars but not OMG FIVE STARS!!!!

  5. Prometheus is beautifully shot and gorgeously drawn, but too many times I felt that the astonishing visuals were trying to mask a very thin story with too many unbelievable moments and characters. I gave it a positive review as well, but I like it less now than when I first saw it. Michael Fassbender and Idris Elba gave great performances, but ultimately I’m not sure it tells us anything about human ambition growing too far too fast that we didn’t already know.

    1. beautifully shot indeed – unlike you, I like it more now than when I first saw it aha! I felt though that it was a good step in the right direction to telling the story they want to tell, but perhaps you’re right, that part of the story could have been told better in giving us something ‘new’.

  6. I didn´t like the end.
    Noomi character should die too! It would be more interesting end!
    When that spaceship falls beside her – detonation would kill her!

  7. Nice review. I was entertained, to say the least, but I think I was expecting something so much better after all of the promotion for this flick. Maybe it was too much like Alien.

  8. To be honest, I felt disappointed when I watched Prometheus. Maybe I had my expectations too high because of how good those trailers were and how great Ridley Scott’s other two sci-fi flicks, Alien and Blade Runner, are. Still, I did enjoy it. Nice review.

    1. Thanks! Ill admit, I tried not have big expectations but couldn’t help to thanks to the forementioned films, but I guess luckily for me it lived up to what I had hoped for. Glad you still enjoyed it even if it didn’t quite match expectations

  9. I loved Prometheus. It’s in my top 5 of the year so far and I watched at the theater twice. Can’t wait for it to come out on Blu-Ray. That surgery scene is SICK. I love it. Rapace and Fassbender were awesome.

Leave a Reply

