The Sweeney (2012)

The Sweeney: Action equals enjoyment, right?
★★½

The Sweeney comes with the tagline ‘act like a criminal to catch a criminal’ and frankly, that probably does well to sum up the film as Ray Winstone plays Jack Regan in this modern take on Sweeney that features plenty of action sequences with bullets flying around and the odd funny line, along with its share of car chases too. It does, however, lack any form of a decent plot or character development, but I suppose this is about action, not plot – I mean, who cares about plot and character development when there is a gun fight in the middle of London, an enjoyable car chase and Ray Winstone chasing justice in a new take on Sweeney? Me actually, it meant that the plot lacked in suspense and enjoyment and I was left feeling very little for those involved, but that’s not to say I didn’t enjoy some of the action.

Image from: The Sweeney, (2012), [ONLINE]. Available here

2 thoughts on “The Sweeney (2012)

  1. I have to admit the adverts have not had me overly excited about seeing it. I will make time to see it though – see if it is Worthy of a numb bum. After all, I like my action films.

    1. Yeh, I went to see it for a casual watch and didn’t expect much, which was a good thing. I didn’t hate it, though, better than some of the action films I’ve seen of late. Look forward to seeing what you think.

Leave a Reply

